What is the similarity between the colors of Navratri and the Devotees of Goddess Durga?

Navratri is one of the auspicious festivals of Hindus and observed twice a year that is (September – October and March – April) This year the festival of Goddess Durga that is Navratri celebrated from March 28 to April 5, 2017. Navratri in itself says everything that is the glory, the story of Goddess Durga in different roles in different time. The nine days depicts the nine different characters of Devi Durga. The festival symbolizes the victory of good over the evil that lie with us. This festivals gives enchant touch and the charm that really difficult to forget within these 9 days. Every individual perform rituals and also purchase the traditional dress so as to wear during worship of Goddess Durga. The color of the dress somewhere depicts the color of Navratri.


The colors of Navratri are as follows:

Day 1 – Ghastasthapana – Orange

The Goddess Durga is worshipped on all these nine days so that she may usher the happiness, prosperity and good luck. The first day of Navratri which is also known as Ghastasthapana, witness the holy pooja of the Goddess. The first day is very auspicious for the worshippers as it is the start of this festival. The Devi Durga dress on this day in Orange attire. According to tradition people uses to wear orange clothes on this day.

Day 2 – Dwitiya – White

The second day of Goddess Durga is worshiped as Brahmacharini, is known as Dwitiya. On this day, people worship the Goddess so that she bestows upon them liberation, as well as prosperity. On this day people uses to wear white attire.

Day 3 – Tritiya – Red

The third day of Navratri is known as Tritiya. On this day Goddess Durga is worshipped as Chandraghanta. That symbolizes bravery and fortitude. On this Devi Durga dresses in Red attire and people too wear red dress.

Day 4 – Chaturthi – Royal Blue

The fourth day of Navratri is known as Chaturthi and on this day Goddess Durga is worshipped in the form of Kushmanda. People worship kushmanda with full energy. On this day Goddess Durga is dressed in royal blue and the people who worship her they also wear royal blue.

Day 5 – Panchami – Yellow

The fifth day of the festival is known as Panchami. On this day, the Goddess is worshiped as Skandamata, the mother of Kartikeya. People seek the blessings of the Goddess. Yellow is the color for this day and the people also wear color yellow.

Day 6 – Sashti – Green

Day six is known as Sashti. On this day people worship goddess Durga in the form of Katyayani. Goddess Durga was born in katya’s family with the formalities that he performed to impress her. So this day Devi durga dress is Green and the people also wear green color.

Day 7 – Saptami – Grey

Day seven is known as Saptami. On this day, Goddess Durga is worshiped in the form of Kalratri. Grey is the color to wear on the seventh day that is Saptami. On this day Goddess Durga removes all kinds of troubles in life and the negativity.

Day 8 – Ashtami – Purple

Day eighth is known as Ashtami. On this day, Goddess Durga is worshiped as Maha Gauri. The attire that devotes will wear on this day should be of purple color. The Goddess purifies their worshippers and also forgives their sins.

Day 9 – Ram Navami – Peacock Green

Ninth day of Navratri is known as Ram Navami and also it is the last day of this festival. On this Devi Durga bestows her prosperity on all her devotes. On this day Devi Durga dress is peacock green color and the devotees also wear peacock green color.

Lastly I would like to say that celebrate this festival with full energy and whole heartedly.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s